African-American Cultural Resources Committee

AACRC Logo 

The African-American Cultural Resources Committee was formed in October 2012 to define the historic outline of the African-American cultural, residential, and commercial communities within the City of Rock Hill.  Composed of dedicated citizens interested in collecting, cataloging and preserving this rich history, the AACRC, in partnership with the City of Rock Hill, is working to build the African-American Business District Monument at the corner of West Black Street and Dave Lyle Boulevard.
 

Once a thriving business area for the African-American community, the entire block from West Black Street to Wilson Street was demolished during the 1970s for urban renewal through federal grant funding.

 Gathings Drug Store

Gathings Drugstore

(Image courtesy Mara Kurtz, Mara Kurtz Photography, NYC)


Downtown 1974

Downtown Rock Hill, ca 1974, before West Black Street & Trade Street Demolition

(From The Herald)

 

1949 Sanborn Map - West Black Street

West Black Street ca 1949

(Courtesy City of Rock Hill Map Collection)

 

 Emmett Scott HS Band

The Emmett Scott High School Marching Band, directed by Frontis Brooks, 1952

(Courtesy Historic Rock Hill)

 

Every town and city has a Main Street, but where do other street names come from?  Before towns were developed, roads were named for the families who owned the lands.  In the City of Rock Hill, Main Street divided the lands owned by the Alexander Black family (Black Street) and the Ann Hutchison White family (White Street).

Afro-American Insurance Building    The Afro-American Insurance Company Building, located at 558 Dave Lyle Boulevard, was designed and built ca 1909 by William W. Smith, a true craftsman and brick mason of incredible skill based in Charlotte, NC. Other buildings designed by Smith include Goler and Ballard Halls on the campus of Livingstone College in Salisbury, NC, and the Mecklenburg Investment Company Building, the first office building in Charlotte specifically built by black business owners for their business concerns. The Afro-American Insurance Company was one of several insurance companies owned and operated by blacks in the southeast.  This building housed a number of black-owned businesses throughout its history, and remains as a significant architectural example of the early 20th century.
     
Federal money was provided to improve the infrastructure of downtown areas throughout the United States in order to eliminate blight and provide improved living conditions for residents.  The unfortunate result was the loss of entire business districts that had served communities for close to 100 years.  As can be seen in the photo, the entire African American Business District had been demolished. To the left at the time this photo was taken, the new US Post Office facility can be seen.
   W Black Aeiral 1970s

The AACRC is in the research and funding process for building this monument as a testament to the African-American spirit of enterprise.  If you have any information about the project or any questions about the AACRC, please contact Chair, Dr, Gladys Feely Robinson, at 803-207-5236, or Vice-Chair, Susie B. Hinton, at 803-372-7656.

AACRC General Information

AACRC Brick Fundraiser
 Monument Design

 

 

Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.