Airport Commission

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option
Agendas and Minutes

Term of Office:
Typically 3 years, but up to discretion of City Council.

The Airport Commission is established by Section 4-31 of the City Code and is organized as a joint agency of the City of Rock Hill and the County of York and shall advise both the County and the City on policy matters. Board was created April 13, 1959. An agreement for joint participation between the City and County was reached June, 1992. In February, 1993, the airport was renamed the Rock Hill/York County Airport-Bryant Field.

Seven member board with four of the seven members appointed by the Rock Hill City Council (these four must reside within the Rock Hill City limits) and the three others appointed by the York County Council (these three must reside within York County). In addition to the appointed members, the City Manager of Rock Hill and the York County Manager serve on the commission with full voting rights, but are not counted in determining a quorum (Ex-officio members).

  • Recommend revisions to the Airport Regulations, Airport Master Plan and Capital Improvement Plan.
  • Advise the City on administrative matters, including contracts, leases, maintenance, safety and security, and operating budget.
  • Implement the Airport Agreement between the City and County dated June 8, 1992.
  • Assist the City and County in using the Airport as an important tool in the strategic growth of the region.
  • Have a general understanding of bylaws and mission.
  • Understand attendance requirements.
  • Participate on an ad hoc subcommittee as needed.
Meeting Schedule:
The Commission meets as designated by the Commission, typically the second Thursday of each month at 3:00 p.m. at the Rock Hill Airport Terminal Conference Room #201, 550 Airport Road and usually lasts 2 hours. The Commission holds a joint meeting with City and County Councils at a mutually agreed upon time, typically in the first quarter of the calendar year.

Staff Liaison:

Steven Gould, C.M., Airport Director, 803-329-5560

Member Position
Robert Burton City Appointed 
David Lloyd City Appointed 
Philip Chandler, Chairman City Appointed
Pickens Freeman County Appointed
Manning Kimmel County Appointed
Mark Kramer County Appointed
Tim Gause City Appointed