City of Rock Hill Community Relations Council

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Agendas & Minutes

The City of Rock Hill Community Relations Council promotes respect, appreciation and understanding of diversity among all people in our community by promoting positive human relations and reducing discrimination, and assessing and responding to the human relations needs of our community, as well as serving as a source of information and advocating and recognizing change to achieve our mission.  The Human Relations Committee, Martin Luther King, Jr. Committee and No Room for Racism Committee were combined to form this Council on March 10, 2014.

Thirteen members appointed by City Council  Members must reside within the Rock Hill School District Three boundaries.

3 years


  • Initiate opportunities to work cooperatively with elected officials; civic, business, and community leaders; and other interested citizen groups to develop and promote a greater awareness in our community of the principles of diversity, racial harmony, social justice and nonviolence.
  • To provide a forum wherein the concerns, issues and situations which hold the portent for the actuality of racial divisiveness among the citizens of Rock Hill shall be heard, discussed, studied, investigated and considered in order to enhance understanding.
  • Attend Committee sponsored functions.


The Council typically meets the second Thursday of each month at 6 PM at Housing & Neighborhood Services, 150 Johnston St.  
Staff Liaison:  

Jason Weil, Housing & Neighborhood Services, 803-329-8783

Member Position Term
Carlo Dawson
Chair  03/10/16-03/10/22
Shekinah Miller 02/13/17-03/10/22  
Sierra Hughes
Gemeta Anderson   03/10/16-03/10/21  
Dr. Sylvia Berry
Robert Karkoski
Lawrence Lewis   02/13/17-03/10/22  
Rachel Lillibridge

Bethany Marlowe   04/11/16-03/10/20

Dale Johnson   11/12/18-03/10/22  
Mary "Summersby" Okey-Hamrick  Secretary 03/10/17-03/10/22  
Isaiah Venning
Cynthia Ware  Vice-Chair 10/09/17-10/08/20