Housing Authority Commission

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Term of Office:
Typically 5 years. but up to the discretion of City Council. 

The Housing Authority Commission serves as a governing board of the Housing Authority Commission, which provides for decent, safe and sanitary housing for persons of low to moderate income. This Commission was created April 12, 1965.

Six members appointed by City Council. Prefer persons with a broad range of interests, experience or knowledge of finance, legal, construction or administrative practices. One member must be a participant in the Authority's HUD subsidized programs. According to the Commission’s bylaws, members are required to be “from the community”.

  • To provide decent, safe and sanitary housing to persons of low to moderate income.
  • To undertake plans approved by City Council as applicable under state statute 31-3-450 S.C. Code.
  • The Authority may acquire title to real and personal property, lease land, exercise eminent domain, construct and operate housing projects, investigate living and housing conditions within the City and exercise all authority granted to it by State Statue SC Code, Title 36, Chapter 2.
  • To oversee the operations of the Authority in accordance with the vested powers and duties listed in SC Statute, Article 5, SC 31 3-310 to 3-600.
Meeting Schedule:
The Commission meets the third Tuesday of each month at 6:00 p.m. at the Housing Authority Office located at 467 South Wilson Street.

Staff Liaison:

Dewayne Alford, Housing Authority, 803-324-3060, ext. 222

Member Position
Terry Millar Attorney; Chair
Love Mills-Byrd Resident Commissioner
Douglas Harrison Administrator
David Casey Finance; Vice-Chair
Dan Ballou Finance 
Tammy Gordon Social Services