Public Parks and Recreation Commission

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option
Agendas & Minutes

Term of Office:

3 years


The Public Parks and Recreation Commission creates policies and assists in the administration of a coordinated City parks and recreation program. This Commission was created August 4, 1944.


Nine members appointed by City Council. Members must reside within the Rock Hill School District Three boundaries.


  • Recommend policies for a coordinated recreation service, and cooperate with other similar local, state or federal government authorities, subject to approval by City Council.
  • Make bylaws, rules and regulations for the proper conduct of the Parks, Recreation and Tourism Department of the City, subject to approval by Council.
  • Establish Voluntary Advisory Committees for all organized sports programs, parks, and neighborhood centers
  • Recommend parks and recreation capital project priorities.
  • Have a general understanding of the Commission's bylaws.
  • Have an understanding of attendance guidelines.
  • Visit recreation sites periodically.
  • Hold public hearings as necessary.
  • Make annual reports to Council and other reports as necessary or requested.

Meeting Schedule:

The Commission meets the first Tuesday of each month at 6:00 p.m. in Room 373 of City Hall located at 155 Johnston Street. Commission meetings usually last 2 hours. Members are encouraged to attend park openings and dedications, the annual volunteer appreciation event, and other department special events.

Staff Liaison:

Amanda Helms, Parks, Recreation and Tourism, 803-329-8752.
Member Position Term
Rene Brannan   07/14/08 - 01/01/21
Beverly A. "Bev" Carroll  Chair 01/23/89 - 01/01/22
John Elliott "Topsy" Coleman   03/17/86 - 01/01/22
Larry Erwin   06/23/69 - 01/01/21
Joseph B. "Bennie" Evans   07/13/92-  01/01/23
James C. Rhea, III  Vice-Chair 03/17/03 - 01/01/21
Edwina Roseboro-Barnes   03/09/15 - 01/01/22
Perry Sutton   01/01/20 - 01/01/23
Matt Watson   08/12/19 - 01/01/23