Rock Hill Clean and Green Board

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option
Agendas & Minutes

Term of Office:
Typically 3 years, but up to the discretion of City Council. 

The Rock Hill Clean and Green Board provides leadership, education and coordination of community programs for beautification, litter prevention, recycling education and outreach and other sustainability issues. This Board was created April 28, 1980 as a committee with a name change August 24, 1987. Membership was expanded in 1987, and on December 12, 1988, the committee was renamed to the present Board.

Fifteen members appointed by City Council. Members must reside within the Rock Hill School District Three boundaries.

In addition, the Environmental Education Specialist, and Community Improvement Specialist shall serve as advisers.

  • Have knowledge of community issues concerning litter, solid waste, recycling, and general beautification and board goals and activities related to each.
  • Serve as an ambassador in the community and with the media for public understanding of issues and related board activities.
  • Have a general understanding of bylaws and mission.
  • Attend monthly board meetings, annual goal setting retreat and awards reception.
  • Serve on one or more subcommittees and make reports at board meetings about its activities.
  • Members are also encouraged to participate in planning and/or serving at one or more board sponsored projects such as Earth Day Birthday, America Recycles Day, school programs, business workshops, etc.
Meeting Schedule:
The Board meets the first Monday of each month at 5:30 p.m. in the front Conference Room at the Housing and Neighborhood Services Building located at 150 Johnston Street. Meetings generally last 1 hour. An average of 2 to 6 hours per month travel time and attendance at board and subcommittee meetings is required. Members often spend 1-2 hours preparing reports for meetings, helping with phone calling or other volunteer activities for projects.

Staff Liaison:

Elizabeth Morgan, Public Works, 803-329-7027

Member Position
Tim Angel  
Dan Polito  
Grace Lewis  
Gale Moore  
Gary Bottomley  
Nadja Folse-Chorak
Judy Gritzmacher  
Kristy Bengivenga  
Marilyn Hakim  
Kelly Munsee  
Julie Johnson
Myra White  
Melissa Chapman Chair
Christopher Johnson  Vice Chair
Charles Ruffalo