Rock Hill Tree Commission

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option
Agendas & Minutes

Term of Office:
Typically 3 years, but up to the discretion of City Council. 

The Rock Hill Tree Commission provides leadership in the development of programs to plant, replace, care for and preserve Rock Hill's community forest. This Commission was created November, 1987.

Seven members appointed by City Council. The City Forester serves as an ex-officio member and staff liaison for the Commission. Members must reside within the Rock Hill School District Three boundaries.

  • Provide leadership and direction for the community forestry program.
  • Advise City Council on community forestry matters.
  • Serve as appeals board on operational decisions or violations of the Tree ordinance.
  • Have a general understanding of the Commission's bylaws, Public Tree Ordinance, ANSI A-300 Standards and the Community Forestry Management Plan.
  • Understand attendance guidelines.
  • Participate in a subcommittee if necessary.
  • Participate in Arbor Day and Earth Day Birthday programs.
  • Have an understanding and commitment to the Commission's yearly goals.
Meeting Schedule:
The Commission meets the second Monday of each month at 5:00 p.m. in the front conference room at the City's Operation Center located at 757 South Anderson Road. Meetings generally last 1 hour with preparation time of 15 minutes per meeting.

Tree Commission Award Nomination Form (PDF)

Staff Liaison:

Matt Clinton, City Forester, Utilities, 803-329-5534

Member Position
Elden E. LeBrun  
Steve Nunn
Vice Chair
Joshua Nypaver Chair
Hope Craig
Timothy Gillette  

Hope Matthews