The City of Rock Hill is operated under the Council-Manager form of government. Rock Hill was the second city in South Carolina to adopt this form of government. Rock Hill has operated continuously under the Council-Manager form of government since 1915.

In the Council-Manager form of government:

  • City Council determines all municipal policies such as the Strategic Plan and City Budget, adopts ordinances and appoints the City Manager, the chief administrative officer for the City.
  • The Council is the governing body of the City; the City Manager is its agent in carrying out the policies established by Council, and ensuring that all departments operate efficiently and economically.

Mayor and City Council

Find your council person

The officials of the City of Rock Hill are elected by the citizens of Rock Hill.
The Mayor is elected at-large for a four-year term.
Six Council members are elected by wards and serve four-year staggered terms.
City Council
Meeting Information
City Council meets:
Second Monday of each month
5:30 PM Citizens Hearing
6 PM Council Meeting

Fourth Monday of each month
6 PM Council Meeting
Council meetings are broadcast live and rebroadcast on Rock Hill's government access channel, Cable Channel 19.

Workshops are usually held the second Thursday of each month at noon in Room 373 of Rock Hill City Hall, 155 Johnston Street, however this schedule is subject to change.  Please call 803-329-7012 for any updates to this schedule.